Back to Programme

Year of the Rabbit

Large Programme Image


Brand new six-part original comedy starring Matt Berry (Toast of London) as Detective Inspector Rabbit, a hardened booze-hound who’s seen it all, and his hapless partner Strauss (Freddie Fox: King Arthur: Legend of the Sword, Parade’s End, Cucumber) who’s just left Cambridge. During their investigation into a particularly gruesome murder, Mabel, the savvy and indomitable daughter of the chief of police, joins them to become the UK’s first female police officer (Susan Wokoma: Chewing Gum, Crazyhead, Porters). Together they fight crime while rubbing shoulders with street gangs, crooked politicians Bulgarian princes, spiritualists, music hall stars and the Elephant Man.


From the press release:

Year of the Rabbit will be directed by BAFTA-nominated Ben Taylor (Catastrophe) and written by Emmy and WGA Award-winners Andy Riley and Kevin Cecil (Veep), with additional material from Matt Berry.

Matt Berry says: “I’m very much looking forward to working with Channel 4 again, and IFC for the first time, as I'm equally looking forward to stepping back in time to fight crime in the same significant year which bought us Van Gough’s Sunflowers, The Elephant Man and of course Jack The Ripper.”

Fiona McDermott, Head of Comedy at Channel 4, says: “Imagine The Sweeney in Victorian England and you’re getting close to the heady misguided machismo that runs rife in this series.  It’s an amazing vehicle for Matt’s talents and together with Susan and Freddie and the wealth of talent off-camera, we are thrilled to have it on the channel.”

“Like everyone else in comedy, we have been trying to develop a Victorian era procedural cop show for years so between that and stalking Matt Berry since he was a guest star on Portlandia, we could not be more thrilled to partner with Channel 4 on this brilliantly funny period piece,” said Lubrano, “The concept, the writing and the cast are simply perfect for IFC’s ‘slightly off’ comedy brand.”

Year of the Rabbit is set to begin shooting later this year and is expected to air in 2019.

 Ben Farrell and Toby Stevens will executive produce for Objective Fiction, with Hannah Mackay producing. The show was commissioned for Channel 4 by Fiona McDermott, Head of Comedy, and Jack Bayles, Commissioning Editor. IFC head of programming Pete Aronson, SVP Christine Lubrano and VP Maura Madden will oversee the series for the channel.


6 x 30 mins




Objective Media Group

Credit Line

Objective Fiction for Channel 4, UK


Matt Berry, Susan Wokoma, Freddie Fox, Keeley Hawes, Jill Halfpenny, Sally Phillips, Alun Armstrong, Paul Kaye


Ben Farrell


Ben Taylor